Black bean Brownies

Happy 2014 everyone!

I started 2014 by making black bean brownies this morning and also with a massive fail.

Let me first start out by saying that the brownies were delicious! Yum.

image

The recipe is below.

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked black beans

3/4 cup gluten free rolled oats

1 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 vanilla bean

1/4 cup grape seed oil

1 1/2 cups raw sugar

1/2 cup water

Method:

Set oven to 350. Remove vanilla from bean like shown here. Blend all ingredients until smooth. Pour batter into a greased square dish preferably 8 “X 8” . Bake for 25 minutes until the sides pull apart from the pan and the top is dry, especially around the center.

Allow brownies to cool, before cutting into squares.

Now to the fail…

So I was there blending my brownie batter ((in my cheapo blender) and the sides needed to be scraped. So I got a plastic spoon, and opened the top of the blender and decided to scrape the sides and give it a little swirl at the top to help it blend properly. (Yeah I am already laughing typing this). Well, my husband came up behind me while I was scraping down the batter and “LO AND BEHOLD” I dropped the spoon right in the  blender. And would you believe he stood there and had the audacity to ask me “what are you doing?”  while the blender was there making a tremendous amount of noise as it blended the plastic spoon.

Well you would imagine that the result was wasted batter and a destroyed spoon. Here is a picture of the spoon is below.

image

image

Can I blame my husband for this mishap?

2 thoughts on “Black bean Brownies

Leave a Reply

