Vegan Shepherds Pie with Cashew Cheese

image

I asked my son what he wanted for lunch and he said he wanted shepherds pie. And you know us moms, gotta make that requested meal when it comes from a 3 year old.

Ingredients:

3 large English potatoes

1 medium sweet potato (if I had more, I would use more)

1 tbsp oil (I used olive oil)

1 cup cooked and drained lentils

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 tsp cumin powder

1 tsp dried marjoram

1 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp dried oregano

2 chives

1/4 onion

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1/2 cup water

Cashew Cheese

Method:

Peel, dice and cook potatoes in salted water until soft.

While potatoes are cooking heat a frying pan and add oil. Add spices, crushed cloves of garlic, onion and chives ( I leave them whole since my son does not like them. This way I can take them out after I am finished cooking them to make sure my son does not accidentally get any in his food.) Cook spices for about 30 second stirring to make sure that they do not burn.

Add lentils and cook until crispy. Add tomato paste and 1/2 cup of water and salt to taste. Simmer until most of the liquid has dried out.

Strain potatoes reserving water. Mash with a 1 tbsp olive or coconut oil.

In a baking dish, place a layer of mashed potatoes, then a layer of lentil stew, then another layer of mashed potatoes. Top with Cashew Cheese

Bake until top is desired colour. I usually make mine a bit darker, but my son could not wait so I had to take it out before that time, and turn the fan up to high and let it cool quickly.

image image

Here the food is cooling on the bed by a high speed fan blast!

Leave a Reply

