Spiced Shortbread Cookies without the fat!

I decided to make some more cookies for the children (ok me) to eat. After reading about using garbanzo flour, I have been dreaming up some recipes to use with it.

So late one night while laying in my bed my mind kept drifting to cookies and what kind I should make. Then it hit me “Spiced Shortbread Cookies”. I figured that using the garbanzo flour might give me the shortbread type consistency. So at 5:30 a.m I hopped into the kitchen and started my creation. And best of all, I decided to try it without any oil!

image

Ingredients:

1 cup cassava flour

2cups garbanzo flour

1 1/2 tsp nutmeg powder. If you like a more spiced flavour use 2 tsp. I prefer it with 2

2 tsp cinnamon powder

2tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup almond milk

1 tbsp vanilla extract ( I would really like to try using vanilla beans, but I a feverishly searching for them but to no avail)

**1  cup coconut sugar. If hoping to use a liquid sweetener, reduce the almond milk by the amount of liquid sweetener.

Method:

Mix the dry ingredients together except the sugar. Add the sugar, vanilla extract and milk and mix thoroughly. The batter should be thick and NOT pourable.

Spoon mixture onto a greased baking tray. Bake for 15 minutes or until cookies are dry to touch, but still soft.

image

This post was also shared on:

image image image image image image image image

4 thoughts on “Spiced Shortbread Cookies without the fat!

  1. Seeing your cookies linked up at the Creative HomeAcre Hop was great! Thanks for joining us and we hope you’ll come and party creatively again on Sunday at http://mumtopia.blogspot.com/2013/06/bloghop30thJune.html I wonder if you perhaps like to write a guest post for Mumtopia, please let me know – I’m sure my readers would benefit from what you have to say. For more information, please read the “Be My Guest” page at Mumtopia: http://mumtopia.blogspot.co.uk/p/write-for-mumtopia.html#.Uc3dNzvOZwQ

Leave a Reply

