Eggplant Casserole

Image

My sister gave me some tomatoes and we went to a farm and got some eggplant so I thought a casserole with some homemade tomato sauce was in order.

My son (you know my sweetheart who called my pancakes feet lol) refused to eat it! I can’t blame him though as I thought eggplant was so nasty when I was young. Since getting older I have come to love it along with many other things that I did not like. some of it also has to do with pregnancy and those hormones that made me eat things I never liked like yam and papaya. If you read my post on Vegan, Pregnant and HG you would remember ther was very little I could eat so eating those foods of all thing was such a surprise, but also a relief that I had something to eat.

Anyways, ramble over, here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

2 eggplants

1 tsp dried oregano

1 sprig fresh thyme or 1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp Finley dices chives

1 shallot finely diced

5 ripe plum tomatoes

2 cups coconut milk. I made mine

salt to taste

Oil for frying. I used grape seed oil

Method:

Slice eggplant (I sliced mine ninth rings) and soak in salty water to get rid of the bitter taste.

Dice tomatoes and cook them in a saucepan on low heat along with the herbs and coconut milk. Salt to taste.

While tomato sauce is cooking, heat a frying pan and add a small amount of oil for frying eggplant As the eggplant will absorb a lot of oil when fried.  Fry eggplant until golden brown And place on a napkin to soak up some of the oil.

Arrange eggplant in a baking dish.

When sauce has been reduced by about 1/3 remove from heat band blend. Pour over eggplant and bake for 15 minutes.

image

This one I did on Saturday and tossed in some cooked garbanzos in hopes that my son would eat since he LOVES garbanzos. He picked them out and left the eggplant lol.

This post was also shared on:

 46 thursdaylinkup1 34    41 42 44 45   SONY DSC

4 thoughts on “Eggplant Casserole

  1. Oh, my husband loves eggplant! YUM Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what you are bringing to the party this week! We have another GREAT giveaway!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

Leave a Reply

