How to Get My Kids to Live Green Lives?- L.I.E.

Welcome to the April 2013 Natural Living Blog Carnival: Natural Kids. This post was written for inclusion in the monthly Natural Living Blog Carnival hosted by Happy Mothering and The Pistachio Project through the Green Moms Network. This month our carnival participants have written posts about how they communicate with their children about natural living and how they implement those changes with their kids.

—–

Making the decision to take the plunge and live a more natural lifestyle was one that I had toyed with for several years but I was never really committed, so I fell back many times. But after I got my son 3 years ago I was determined to stick with the changes I was making.

Sure I was eating healthier that most people for years, but there were SO many things I was doing that were not healthy. So my son came and along with his birth came my commitment to creating an environment that was as healthy, eco-friendly as possible.

So out went the Clorox and in came the vinegar. Out went many of the over processed foods and in came the local vegetables. And much more… Much, much more.

And I LOVED it.

And living this green, healthy lifestyle is something I wanted for my entire family. My husband took a VERY long time to come around to some of the choices I made, but recently he did his own research and made the change!!! Yay!! So now we both are working on it together.

Now that both of us are on the same page we have decided on the best way to help the children enjoy living this type of lifestyle. And so we decided to L.I.E!!!

Yup, we did. But I promise we are not bad parents for it!  We have realized that like anything we want our children to do, we as parents have to L.I.E.

L- Live the example we want our children to follow

I-Instruct them in the right choices to make

E-Enable and encourage them to make the greener, healthier choices.

So when there are spills you know what I use? My green/natural/non-toxic cleaners (Live the example). And best of all I have a little helper. So out comes the spray bottle and cleaning rags and I hear “let me do it!” And I oblige. (Encourage and Enable). I can’t wait until that little voice is joined by his sister’s. Oh how exciting that will be!

image

Oh and grocery shopping for the best products- hectic, but we manage. I tell him and show them (well really him as my daughter is too small) why we choose certain things and why we don’t choose others (Instruct). Besides, they really love going shopping. Just yesterday they went for some produce from a “local farmer” and looks at some of the things they got:

image

image

His new favourite things to use is a hand scrub that I made. He loves to smell his hands after he uses it and unfortunately he sometimes HAS to wash his hand even though his hands are not dirty!

Oh well. But we will continue to L.I.E so that our children hopefully will confidently make greener, healthier choices as they get older. Oh and we plan on doing this for all other aspects of their lives too.

So see, I told you we are not bad parents because of it!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 thoughts on “How to Get My Kids to Live Green Lives?- L.I.E.

  1. L.I.E. that is great and so true. The most powerful lessons for our kids are our actions and our words united. I do love using natural cleaning products too so I can have little helpers.

  2. I love the acronym!! While my husband and I do the same thing I never heard this before. Modeling behavior is so important, kids learn so much from that!

Leave a Reply

