Cheesy Vegetable Pie

The guys went out to get the groceries today, so it was just me and my daughter. I wanted to spend a lot of time playing with her so I decided to make something quick, light and yet tasty. So I quickly cut up my vegetables and put them to boil and played with my daughter. When hubby got home I quickly made the cheese sauce. In less than 30 minutes everything was done.

And best of all- we played, sang and had a great time!

Here’s the recipe for the Cheesy Vegetable Pie

Ingredients:

5 Idaho potatoes

1 medium sweet potato

1 carrot

1 cup diced pumpkin

salt to taste (I had to use regular iodine salt as I have no other one right now, but after reading an article about salt, I am looking to switch. Not to mention that the iodine salt has in something my son is allergic to-CORN!!!!!!)

1/2 cup raw cashews

3 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp marjoram

1 tsp oregano

1 clove garlic

1/4 onion

1 chive

1 tsp tomato paste

1/4 cup boiling water

1/2 tsp lime juice

salt to taste

Method:

Cook carrots, potatoes and pumpkin with a little salt to desired tenderness. Remove from heat and drain.

Sauce:

Blend remaining ingredients excluding lime juice until a thick creamy paste forms. Add lime juice and a bit more salt and blend. The cheese sauce should be a bit saltier than you would like as it will loose some of that saltiness once mixed with the vegetables. Additionally you can add 1 tbsp nutritional yeast flakes to this sauce.

Pour onto cooked vegetable and gently mix.

You can also bake it for 15 minutes at 350. It tastes wonderful baked, but I had no time for that today.

WE ate ours today with fried plantain and salad and every one cleaned their plates.

image

This post was also shared on:

thursdaylinkup1 34  35  ??????????????????????????????? 38 39 40 41 4243  44 45  SONY DSC

7 thoughts on “Cheesy Vegetable Pie

  1. Oh, I like the addition of pumpkin! YUM So very excited with all the entries this week! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  2. Pingback: Weekend Whatever #67 - Simple Living Mama | Simple Living Mama

Leave a Reply

