Raw Date Truffles

I was “encouraged” unwittingly by another blogger to really cut out the sugar in my diet. After surviving the 30 Day Health Challenge and not using sugar for a bit I had returned to it.

But a nice email discussing sugar that I had used in one of my recipes last week got me really motivated to find and use better alternatives to cane sugar.

The more I look, the more I find nice alternatives that are not so expensive.

Well I wanted a dessert and did not want to use any sugar so I made some raw, vegan truffles. They are yum!!!

Ingredients:

20 pitted medjool dates

1/4 cup dried cranberries

8 dried apricots

10 prunes

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1 tbsp sunflower seeds

1/4 cup shreded coconut

Method:

Soak dates in  hot water until the are soft. Place all fruit in a food processor and process until a they form a thick paste. Add seeds and shredded coconut and pulse until seeds are broken down.

Roll into balls and either place in cupcake papers or place on a tray. I made mine irregular since I have a little 3 year old chef who helps me a lot and hasn’t quite got the knack of rolling balls.

image

This post was also shared on:

4243  44 45  46 SONY DSC

2 thoughts on “Raw Date Truffles

  1. Swoon! My husband will LOVE these!! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    The party starts tonight! Can’t wait to see what you bring this week!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  2. Pingback: Weekend Whatever Link-up (4/13)

Leave a Reply

