Apple, Pineapple Swirl Cake

I promised my son that I would bake with him for this entire week. I have slacked off since having our daughter and he is really lacking some good baking/cooking/making a mess and loving it time.

So I decided to bake today and let everyone get involved- Hubby was holding our daughter and he gave her a few things to sample. Our son loves to smell and taste every ingredient. Watching him do it is always a blast for me. Today was even more so since he tasted the split pea flour and then promptly had to spit it out lol. Now if you have ever tasted split peas flour you would definitely know how he reacted.

But despite the incessant tasting, the accidental spills due to said tasting- yes he really loves to eat salt and sugar, and now it seems he likes nutmeg too-we still managed to make a great recipe.

So after I had seen so many recipes that did not use flour or used different flours in the cakes, I decided to try my hand at one of the recipes. And well I just can’t bake only one thing in my oven. I need to bake at least 2 things. So I tried to make Flourless Brownies. I’ll be sure to post this recipe later.

Well here it is.

image

Ingredients:

Cake

3 cups brown rice flour

1 cup split pea flour

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3/4 cup oil

1 1/2 cup dairy free milk (I used silk almond milk but you can make your own coconut milk and use that instead. This would be so much better too)

1 1/2 cup sugar.  For those of you who are moving to a healthier alternative to sugar (like i would like to do) cook 1 Bartlett pear and 1 Galla apple in 1 cup of water. Reduce until the fruit begins to caramelize. Mash with a fork or blend.

Apple Pineapple Swirl

1 Granny Smith or other cooking apple or 2 gala apples

1 can pineapple in its own juice (since I had no fresh pineapple. Insert sad face here)

1/4 cup sugar ( omit the sagar for a healthier alternative)

Method:

For Apple, Pineapple Swirl

Peel and dice apple and place it in a blender. Add drained pineapple to blender and blend until there are no apple chunks. If using sugar add it to the fruit. Cook the fruit until it is reduced by 1/3

For Cake

Mix flours, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.  Add sugar or fruit if not using sugar and oil and mix thoroughly. Slowly add milk while mixing to ensure there are no lumps in the batter.

Pour batter into a greased 9 inch round baking pan. Add Apple/pineapple mixture to the center of the batter and swirl using a knife.

Bake for 45 minutes at 350. The top should look golden but the center should be wet but cooked. Turn off the heat and let cake sit in oven to dry out a bit before letting it cool. Turn out and cool completely before cutting.

The cake will dry out when cooled. However make sure that the cake is cooked before turning off the oven.

If you want a more crumbly/sandy cake you can reduce the temperature after 45 minutes and cook the cake at 250 for another 20 minutes.

Enjoy.

Oh and because I had my “fudge” aka “flourless brownie mishap”,  I frosted my cake with it. Double yum.

image <— That’s what it looked like after 2 bites

I’ll be making this again this week so I can share it with my mother. This time it will be with the coconut milk, no sugar and fresh pineapple.  I CAN’T WAIT TO EAT IT!

This post was also shared on:

4243  44 45  46 

2 thoughts on “Apple, Pineapple Swirl Cake

  1. This looks amazing! I love pineapple! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    The party will be GREAT this week! We are giving away a tote full of goodies from Namaste Foods! The items are gluten free and allergy friendly! Can’t wait to see what you bring to the party!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

Leave a Reply

