Garden Burger

This morning I was supposed to enjoy a nice un-rushed breakfast for Task 9 of the 30 Day Health Challenge. Well that was a bust because both children woke up before I could even prepare breakfast.

Anyway, I still managed to do breakfast- garden burger, boiled cassava instead of the cassava chips, and a strawberry smoothie.

Here’s the Garden Burger.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup cooked lentils

3/4 cup split pea flour

1/2 large carrot

4 ounces pumpkin (just average like I do)

1 clove garlic

1/4 white onion

1/4 red onion

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1 tbsp tomato paste

1 long scallion

1 chive

Method:

Grate carrot and pumpkin and set aside in a bowl. Blend onion,garlic, scallion and chive and add to carrot and pumpkin. Add remaining ingredients except split pea flour and mix well. Add flour and mix again making sure it is completely combined.

image

Shallow fry until edges become crispy.

For baked burgers, add 2 tbsp of oil to the mixture. Form burgers into desired size and place on a greased baking tray and bake until the edges begin to get crispy. Flip patties and bake until the burgers are dark brown.

image

Hope you enjoy them as much as my son and I did. We all ate breakfast together, my son, daughter and I. It was not a rushed breakfast but it was a bit stressful as my son had A LOT of energy this morning. But, I’ll try this again tomorrow 😉

This post was also shared on:

4243  4445   46  SONY DSC

2 thoughts on “Garden Burger

  1. I am always looking for new garden burgers! YUM I love the ingredients in this one! 🙂 We have some awesome recipes this week!! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Thanks for linking back to the Gluten Free Fridays post!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

Leave a Reply

