Breakfast Pudding-Sugar Free

Wow the days are sure passing by quickly! The 30 Day Healht Challenge is coming along nicely for me, except that I used some sugar.

Who would have believed how much sugar is a part of my diet and how much effort it takes to cut out sugar. It’s not hard, but because it has been such a part of my diet, it takes A LOT of thought to prepare sugar free desserts. And even though there are many times I do not eat dessert, the ones that I eat are loaded with sugar. Sigh.

So you would imagine how much of an eye opener this challenge has been for me.

Well I made a Pudding this morning and surprisingly it was a BIG hit with my son! Oh and it has in 4 different fruits.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup raisins

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup prunes

1 cup dates

1 cup cassava flour

1 cup brown rice flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp spice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup grape seed oil

1/2 cup water

NO SUGAR!

Method:

Soak fruit in enough boiling water to cover fruit for about 10 to 15 minutes. While fruits are soaking, prepare one 8 inch round baking pan. Mix dry ingredients together. Blend fruit along with soaking water, making sure no chunks of fruit are left (maybe you might like it with chunks for texture but I don’t). Use 1 cup of fruit mixture (I will be using the remainder to make great cake) and add it to the flour and mix well. Add the oil and mix. Slow add the water and mix thoroughly. Pour into greased baking pan and bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees and the bake for 10-15 minutes at 250 degrees. Alternately you can cover the pudding with foil and bake for 25 minutes at 350 and then remove the foil and bake until the sides begin to turn dark brown (10 to 15 minutes).

I would have loved to serve this with some sugar free strawberry ice cream, but I did not remember to put the strawberries in the freezer last night so the ice cream is on hold.

image

image
HealthyBodyEqualsHealthyMind

This post was also shared on:

31 21 22 25 26 28 32

One thought on “Breakfast Pudding-Sugar Free

Leave a Reply

