Sugar free- Task 6

Today is the start of Task 6 of the 30 Day Health Challenge– Do not add sugar to anything you are consuming.

There is so much information about sugar out there. I just read this little post about corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup and some of the risks that they pose to our health and some of the products we can use as sweeteners that are not harmful to us. Right now I have agave nectar in my cupboard and I am thinking about buying stevia. I have been putting the agave in my milkshakes with gluten free oats and they taste nice. The taste of the agave is not very “sweet” but I think it is nice enough to use in most dishes. Some people use honey as well, but we have not introduced it to our son as yet.

There are lost of things that we can use to satisfy our sweet cravings instead of using sugar. When we hear “no sugar” it immediately seems impossible to do. But believe me it is!

I found out I could live without sugar when my grandmother was alive. She was diabetic and did not use any sugar. One day as a teenager I made a bet with her that I could survive without sugar. I did. To this day I don’t really drink tea with sugar. And actually, I was told that tea is actually supposed too be drunk without sugar. I wonder if what that person said is true…..

Anyhow, you can check out this post here about sugar.

Check out my Pumpkin Pineapple Smoothie for a nice sugar free drink.

DSCN6042

 

Let’s do this.

HealthyBodyEqualsHealthyMind

This post was also shared on:

Post image for Healthy 2day Wednesdays {week 87}thursdaylinkup1   Photobucket   Wisdom Wednesday

 

4 thoughts on “Sugar free- Task 6

  1. I am not supposed to have sugar – so this post hits close to home for me. Thank you for the reminder. (above this box I’m replying to you, I see a link to a ‘sugar-free vanilla cake’ … I’ll be heading there next!)

  2. I always drink hot tea without sugar but I put sugar in my iced tea. Ha…just a weirdo thing, I guess! 🙂

    Thanks for linking up. Hope you have a great day and come back later today for this week’s new linkup!

Leave a Reply

