Green Confessions

Welcome to the January 2013 Natural Living Blog Carnival: Green Confessions.

This post was written for inclusion in the monthly Natural Living Blog Carnival hosted by Happy Mothering and The Pistachio Project through the Green Moms Network. This month our members have written posts about areas of their life where they aren’t as “green” as they may want to be.

—–

So I have some not so green products in my home still (gasp). I have a 2 year old son and a husband who breaks everything! Seriously! I bought a pair of nice glass rose ornaments on our honeymoon and  when we got back he broke one. It’s supposed to be a pair not one! Not to mention all of the glasses that we had that are not so slowly being broken.

So in the top right hand corner of one of our kitchen shelf sits at least 100 plastic cups, about 30 plastic spoons and 10 or so plastic forks, in addition to some small plastic plates.

photo (4)

Now on to the baby. I have no preamble like I had for my husband and son so I’ll cut right to the chase; my daughter is still using those little plastic bowls for her food. They have nice lids and are so convenient when traveling around for long periods and I need to take something for her to eat.

Sure I know I need to get to the point where we are not using these plastic items, but I couldn’t keep cleaning up broken glass and plates every time, so something had to give!

And last but in no means least, there are sooo much body washes, hand and liquid soaps and shampoos in our cupboards that I know are not the best. And to tell you the truth, I have not and right now, I will not be reading those labels. These are compliments of my mother-in-law, who sends them to us all the time. But to be honest I like the way some of the body washes and hand soaps smell and so does my husband.

These items are soon going to be in the past in our home. Right now I am looking at some wonderful recipes for natural lotions, soaps, body scrubs.  Here’s a little peek at a foot Soak and Scrub that I made.

photo (5)

It’s called Cinnamint Blast Foot Soak and Scrub. I’m going to do up a nice label and make it really attractive and post the ingredients later.

But anyway, hopefully I’ll buck up and get cracking at making my home more ” green”. But what am I going to do about breaking the plates and glasses?? This one might take a bit more time and money on my part.

—–

Visit Happy Mothering and The Pistachio Project to learn more about participating in next month’s Natural Living Blog Carnival!

Please take some time to enjoy the posts our other carnival participants have contributed:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

14 thoughts on “Green Confessions

  1. I don’t personally feel that plastic dishes makes you not green. Gee, I hope not. I am hippie enough to use family cloth, but we have some plastic ware! I did see a fund raiser for a small company that is starting to make glasses with a silicone sleeve over them. They are REALLY cute and the silicone cushions the glass so it doesn’t break so easily. They’re not yet commercially available, though.

    • Boy are you lucky! They break something almost every week….Oh I just gave my mom a foot scrub to use. She will give an unbiased opinion (as much as a mom can do lol) on it before I post the recipe.

  2. Ever tried stainless steel tiffins? I got some for the children, they come with a stainless top that you click in place with three clamps around the edges and presto: leak-proof, plastic free food container! Bonus for the toddler: they make a satisfyingly loud noise when you bang them on the table or throw them across the room. But they won’t break.
    They are used all around India (where in general they like metal, like for serving dishes and drinking cups and such). I’m never going back to tupperware.

  3. It’s a slow process that’s for sure. I’ve been on this crunchy journey for 5 years and there are still a few things I have yet to change. As for the glassware stuff… I have yet to actually have any of my kids break anything. But then maybe I’m super conscious about watching the every move they make. lol Stainless steel works great too!

    • And your hubby does break thing either? Hmm….. Mine breaks EVERYTHING, from glasses to plates, to vases lol. Oh and I watch my son like a hawk too, but unfortunately most of the things get broken on my husband’s watch.

  4. DO NOT feel guilty! As a mom who cares about all the same things as you, I can tell you I do the same thing. Sometimes.. it’s about surviving and being conscious of those choices and trying to make adjustments in other areas that may not be so hard with young kids.. it’s OKAY! Have you checked our ECO Lunch Boxes or Wean green food storage?? I haven’t much, but I’m assuming those are more green alternatives too!

Leave a Reply

