Rice and Shine Cake (Gluten,Soy,Corn Free; Vegan)

I just wanted to bake something to satisfy the sweet craving that I get sometimes. I looked into my cupboards and saw the Gluten free Rice and Shine Cereal that the others don’t seem to fancy. Anyhow, I said, why not? So at 6:30 am I whipped up a little cake to serve at breakfast.

Here it is.

Ingredients:

2 cup rice and shine

2 cup cassava flour

1 cup quinoa flakes

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup grape seed oil

1 cup silk vanilla almond milk

2 cup water

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp spice

1 tsp nutmeg

Method:

Mix the dry¬†ingredients together in a bowl. Mix the oil, milk and water together. Pour it into the “flour” and mix well. It will be very watery because the rice and shine is not flour and I wanted to ensure that it cooked properly.

Pour into a greased 9 inch round baking pan and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

When using cassava flour you don’t have to use alot of oil and you will actually see the oil on the top of the cake when you initially take it out of the oven, but it will be reabsorbed into the cake.

Anyhow for breakfast we also had grapes, baked apples, quinoa macaroons (I tried out/made up this recipe too. I’ll post it later) with almond butter, lentil stew and hash browns (my husband and son had french fries because I just can’t seem to get my husband to stop eating them).

Well, enjoy the recipe.

Leave a Reply

