Great Cake (Soy, Corn, Gluten Free; Vegan )

 

Where I live there is this delicious fruit cake that we affectionately call a Great Cake. When done properly it indeed is great! My cousin made one of these cakes for my wedding (well actually 9-a 3 tier 2 tier and single cake) , which is the traditional type of cake used at weddings here. It was so delicious, but it had in flour it.

Now I am trying to get a gluten free recipe that comes close to the one I had.  The wises thing would be for me to get the recipe from my cousin and just substitute things. But nope! I am not going to do that right now. I am going to continue for a bit more with my experimenting and then I’ll ask her.

So here’s one of the recipes I have tried.

Ingerdients:

2 cups cassava flour

1 ½ cup brown rice flour

1 cup dates

½ cup raisins

1 cup prunes, pitted

1 tbsp (heaped) almond butter (optional)the traditional recipe calls for peanut butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp spice

1 tsp orange rind

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup oil

1 cup water

1 cup hot water

 

Method:

Set oven to 350. Prepare a 12 inch round pan by greasing with oil and then flouring with brown rice flour.

Soak dates in hot water until they become soft. Add raisins, prunes and orange rind to a blender with water. Add the soaked dated to the blender and process until smooth. Add oil and almond butter and process for 30 second more.

In a bowl add flours, cinnamon and nutmeg and mix well. Add mixed fruit and mix thoroughly.

Pour into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool.

NB. If you insert a knife it will not come out clean but the cake is very much cooked and delicious!

If you refrigerate it (I have ants but you can definitely leave it on the counter) and eat it after 2 days it tastes better.

Leave a Reply

